Goats!

Did I ever mention that I like goats?  I think I may more than once.  Either way goats are awesome and recently on a little trip to the vast expanse of corn and soybean that is known as the rest of the state of Illinois I got the opportunity to play with some very well behaved goats.

goat herd

 

I was visiting a coworker’s family because she wanted some good photos of her two horses, they will be featured in another post.  While there we asked the neighbors if I could photograph the goats and they readily agreed.  It was an amazing experience as I am accustomed to either unsocialized goats that are mostly decoration for the barn, or the ill mannered bullies you find in petting zoos.

goat in grass

These little goats are ladies through and through.  They were very curious as to what we were up to but they didn’t jump on you or steal from you.  They just wanted to be petted and scratched, something I was happy to do in between taking photos.

young goat

 

Then there was April.  She has the goofiest personality of any goat I’ve ever met and given that they’re not exactly the most stoic animals to begin with that is saying a lot.  Many of my photos have her sneaking around in the background, checking things out.  She was terribly impressed with the camera, and while she wasn’t too sure about it she just had to make sure that she was the center of attention at all times.

april

 

Not that April has a monopoly on photobombing the other goats, mind you. goat photobomb

Oh really? Tell me more....

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 660 other followers