>House of Harm

>
This post could be alternatively titled “We’ve Come a Long Way”. This is building that started it all for me, Mahencha Apartments, a.k.a. The House of Harm. While I was always a trigger happy shutterbug when handed a camera, this place made me realize I wanted to do more than just document the things I have seen and done. I wanted to convey the majesty, sorrow and despair of this building, and have failed to do so for many years.

The above photo is from our very first field trip to Gary back in 2008, taken with my old second hand p.o.s. camera. I had absolutely no idea what I was doing and it shows. Of course, some could argue I still don’t know what the hell I am doing, and I wouldn’t disagree with them.

While the Blogger network was closed to new posts I took some time to go through my oldest files, looking for something worthy to share, and instead saw only cringe worthy snap shots with misaligned horizons, dubious composition and an obvious lack of understanding of the basic photographic rules. I remember being very frustrated that I consistently failed to capture what I wanted to share, every photo was like that. While I rag on myself a lot for having tons of room to improve, it makes me happy to see that in the past 3 years I have improved immensely. I don’t think I will ever be a great photographer, but at least I don’t take pictures like the above anymore.

3 responses

  1. Resembles the quality of my photos now. . . hm.

    May 19, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    • Heh- there is always room to improve, I’m still not very good and that doesn’t stop me from running a photo blog!

      To be honest your photos are better than this one, you get the exposure correct among other things. I say keep practicing and so long as you find joy in it then it is a worthwhile endeavor.

      May 19, 2013 at 10:58 pm

      • Well, blogging brings me joy, and photographs are the things that posts hang on. . . . I’m happy to have discovered your blog–it’s terrific. Cheers, CHC

        May 20, 2013 at 6:19 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

