>Silence

>I’ve been quiet for few days, working on a few things and trying to make some of my plans into reality.

Plan number one, I finally ordered a DSLR, a Canon 60D. Check. It should be here Wednesday.

I went back and forth for a long time on if I should get a pro-level camera or stick with a more mid-range beast. In the end I figure I’m never going to be famous or sell my work, so why not go mid-range and save a few bucks to put away for all those spiffy lenses I want?

Plan number two, foster kittens. Check. On Saturday two little 5 week old fuzz balls moved in to stay with me until they find homes.

Plan number three, find a charter boat 3 people can afford for a 5 hour trip. Fail. I suspect part of it is due to the cost of fossil fuels at the moment, the rest of it is due to the only size boats in our price range are fishing vessels who are all booked up for the season.

Plan number four, settle a date for the Fermi Lab trip. Fail, -ish. We’re getting closer.

Plan number five, post-rapture looting. Fail, if only because the rapture didn’t happen.

Plan number six, set date for the first Gary Indiana Drag Queen photo shoot. Check. Brace yourselves for some hilarity at the end of next month.

Actually, to briefly address the Gary shoot, Misty Meaner’s partner has expressed concern for Misty’s safety during the shoot. He was a little surprised when I wasn’t very concerned, if only for the fact that Gary is a virtual ghost town at this point and most of the shoot will be inside. Also, I have Mace and a pair of buddies capable of defending themselves. I really don’t foresee any problems with the locals, they’re so used to photographers with their models at this point that I doubt it’ll be an issue.

One of the bonus points of this trip is I’ll have both cameras, and will be able to compare their performance. Until I get a decent wide angle lens I plan on hanging on to my old camera just for that aspect.

Oh really? Tell me more....

