>The Loyalty Building

>Over the winter my friend and I drove up to Milwaukee for a day trip photo shoot, this was mostly a scouting trip to see what kind of things we could expect should we choose to do a longer trip over the summer.

Scouting in 10 degree weather with a minus 14 degree wind chill isn’t what I would call fun, so a lot of time was spent ducking into professional buildings and seeing what the lobby or atrium looked like. The Loyalty Building was a huge winner for this. Nothing much has been changed since it was built back in 30’s or 40’s. It still has an eye watering patterned tile floor, copper details added everywhere, carved hand railing for the marble stairs and even the light fixtures, if not original, are true to the era.

By the time we go back it will have been converted over to hotel so I’m going to assume they will kill the personality of the building and make it as bland and inoffensive as possible (good bye insane floor tiles) and pull out the vault from the first floor, which inexplicably hovers 10 feet off the floor.

While we were wandering about I bumped into a lady who works in a law office located on the second floor and she gave me a few tidbits about the neighborhood, and the building it self. She was the one who mentioned the vault, which I had walked past twice without noticing. When it first went up, the Loyalty Building was a bank, albeit a bank with a decidedly odd floor plan. The photo for today shows the main stair from the first floor to the second. The light was simply amazing due to a massive sky light above it and that great winter light you get a few hours before the snow starts. I’m kicking myself a little for not closing down my aperture more, especially since this is one place we’ll not be able to return to at any point. I think my rational at the time was related to shutter speed and I was still trying to figure out field of depth.

One response

  1. I remember this building well. I practically made love to that staircase with my camera only to come away with crap. You got a nice, simply composed shot that captured it well. Live and learn.

    February 9, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

