I Need a Roadtrip

It has been over a year since I’ve taken a serious roadtrip, that is to any place farther than Detroit.  It is starting to make me insane as I am rather bored with, and sick of the city life and all it entails.  I am done with the hordes of people, oblivious to everyone around them, with the traffic and the public transit, downstairs neighbors, the smells, the sounds, the litter, playing the gunshot-or-fireworks game and the list could go on.   I don’t think I could survive living out in the country for any length of time though, I need a certain amount of museums and…. that is all I can think of.  Maybe I COULD survive living in the country.

Either way, I’ve been going through my roadtrip pictures from last year and it is only making it worse.  I want to go back to all of these places and spend far more time than a few days there, I want to spend weeks and months exploring and photographing while soaking in the lack of massive crowds everywhere I look.

Today’s pictures are from the Badlands in South Dakota, which due to the miracle of global climate change have frequently worn a surprising green coat most summers these past few years.  The spring bloom is simply amazing, especially when you think of how many years some of these plants would normally go between blooming.It would figure that the one day that I was there it hazy and feeling like a thunderstorm was about to move in.  Every single day, for nearly 2 weeks if it wasn’t raining on us it snowing.  I think I still managed to get a few nice shots, but now that I have the new camera I am burning up wanting to try to do better.

As a special bonus when visiting the Badlands several years apart, you’ll notice the erosion more.  This park has a pretty changeable face as it is eroding fairly fast, in geologic terms, in another 10 thousand years there will be no Badlands.

In the meantime it is on my bucket list, along with Glacier, Yellowstone, Arches and the Grand Canyon.  All places I’ve been, but I want to go back to at least one more time.

While in the Badlands we took one of the gravel roads despite the potential for a heavy rain just to see what was out there.  Turned out it was mostly cattle and meadowlarks.  This little fella didn’t see why he should clear off the road for us, unlike the rest of the herd, and just watched us roll past.

4 responses

  1. The second and third were beautiful :D

    July 20, 2011 at 1:07 pm

  2. Thank you! Although it is hard to go wrong when taking pictures of a landscape that awe inspiring.

    July 20, 2011 at 1:31 pm

  3. Of all of the places I’ve visited the West (Badlands, Yellowstone, Glaciers etc) were visually seared into my brain the most. I like to tell myself it is because of the incredible amount of beauty that can be found in these places and not due to the fact that I was 12 yrs old and traveling cross country with my family (stinky brother) in a 1970 non-A/C buick Skylark! However, after seeing these badland pics I now know that the seared memories are in fact due to the beauty!

    The photos on your site are captivating. I scrolled through page after page after page.

    July 24, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    • Thank you so much, I’m glad they helped confirm it was not due to travel delirium! I’ve been there myself, only with 2 older brothers in an ’82 Ford Van.

      July 24, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

