Yellowstone Falls

Some days you just can’t win.  Snow, in June.  On the one day I visit the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone.   Not only did it snow, it snowed hard and for a few hours, thankfully with no accumulation though.

And that is the Yellowstone River flowing its way through the snowy morning.

 

By the time we moved around to the other rim the canyon the snow was letting up a little, but I still didn’t have much by the way of light.

 

In the end just being there, freezing my ass off in a snow storm in June standing on the rim of the canyon and watching the torrent of the Yellowstone River plummet over the edge was such a fantastic experience I don’t mind that I didn’t get the “perfect” shot.

4 responses

  1. Gorgeous! I do not see anything imperfect about the waterfall shot. It’s beautiful.

    July 26, 2011 at 9:20 pm

  2. I agree with nickelbeck.Even with the low light, that’s a beautifully dramatic shot.

    July 26, 2011 at 10:56 pm

  3. That is one of the nice things about waterfalls, it is pretty hard to screw up taking a picture of them ;)

    July 27, 2011 at 10:18 am

  4. These are wonderful paintings, oops photographs! Worth freezing your butt off for if you ask me. We woke up to falling snow in Yosemite in May . . .

    July 28, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

