Backdoor View

Oh yeah, we’ve been getting some serious storms around here, and ever since I was a wee tiny child I’ve been in love with thunderstorms.  Unlike my poor dog, who pants and drools and shivers until her Xanax kicks in.  These were taken last night, although this is about what it looks like outside right now.  I know. I shouldn’t be on the computer.  I just can’t help myself.

I know may never get the chance to do any real storm chasing, and last night was the first time I ever even gave a serious attempt at shooting lightning.  I knew my location (right outside my back door) was a very poor choice, what with powerlines and all to both be in the way and potential targets for lightning strikes, but I figured what the heck, let’s give it a whirl.  I’ve never managed to capture anything more than a dark sky anyway.

Now I really, really, REALLY want to go storm chasing.   If I believed in souls I would sell mine a heartbeat to do so.   As it currently stands I’ll just have to wait for my next roadtrip, aim to go during storm season (which is apparently March through December these days) and hope whoever I am with doesn’t mind doing some massively stupid things all for the sake of getting pretty pictures of nature tearing it up.

3 responses

  1. dude, this is amazing! i also like to watch lightning-from a safe distance though-and i seriously think it’s beautiful!

    July 28, 2011 at 11:54 pm

  2. You’d have loves to be in the Chicago area the past 2 nights then, it was astounding the amount of lightning we had! I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many cloud to ground strikes in this area either, so I was pretty happy I decided to hang out on the porch for a bit with the camera.

    July 29, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

