The Joust, Part 1

As I mentioned previously I visited the Bristol Renaissance Faire this past weekend.  With all the kitty craziness going on in the house sort of under control I finally had a chance to browse  a few pictures.  Meet Sir Gregory, I used to sublet an apartment from him.  At the time he was Squire Gregory, so I am very happy to see him moving up in the world.

Sir Gregory preparing for the joust, actually since they now have a rail to keep the horses from colliding I believe it is more properly called tilting.

This jouster I don’t know, but he sure does like to play it up for the camera!

Not the best shot of the day, but it certainly gives you an idea of how difficult the job really is.  You’re seated on an 800 pound animal with a mind and will of its own (and this company, Hanlon-Lee Action Theater,  uses bit-less bridles too!) with a large heavy pole moving at about 20 to 25 miles an hour attempting to hit (or in this case catch) a small moving target about a foot in diameter.

2 responses

  1. lifewith4cats

    I really like the second picture down. It would make a good subject for painting.

    August 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  2. I’ve actually had the same thought. It has been a very long time since I picked up brushes and paint but I still get the itch to try sometimes.

    August 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

