Falconry Show

While the new camera is better equipped to deal with the fast movement at the Falconry show, I still have a lot of learning to do to get the most out of it.  The grand majority of the time my pictures are nothing but grey or brown blurs, when I manage to get the bird in the frame at all.   This past visit was a little better, most of the time my pictures were slightly out of focus when I managed to get the bird into the frame. There was still a lot of “*#*$!@#@$#^&!!” going on under my breath.

Despite the lack of action shots I am still pretty happy with what I did get.  Meet Fire, and his lovely handler.

Also, at long last, I caught a decent shot of a falcon being hooded.

So the visit wasn’t a total loss after all, I’m pretty happy with how much this Barbary Gyrfalcon played it up for the camera.

2 responses

  1. lifewith4cats

    As a fan of all birds of prey, these are wonderful. Especialy the bird being hooded. Its got kind of a rugged old world edge to it, and the details in the wings!

    August 5, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  2. Thank you! Bristol Faire used have a different falconer, but when they brought this guy in the show went from showing off a huge variety of birds to educating people about how the birds are trained, cared for and what they do for the ecosystem, as well as why efforts should be made to preserve them.

    Admittedly owls are my favorite, and he does have a great horned owl he flies, but never for the show since owls were not used for hunting in the Renaissance.

    August 6, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

