The Races

So I spent the day at Arlington Racetrack today.  Like going to the zoo I have mixed feelings about horse racing,  the waste of animal life, the amount of abuse that comes out of it, these things are appalling.  But it is easy to forget these things when you’re at a nice track Arlington where the horses are well cared for even when they’re a little nutty, like this fellow.  Still, I enjoyed myself despite my lacking of wagering, and went for the photo opportunities.

Doesn’t that make you just want to play with his nose?  Way back when I drove horse carriages for a living and lip rodeo was always a favorite game for myself and some of my horses.

So here is my question is which is better?  This or the next?

You can clicky the photo to make it all bigger and the like.

2 responses

  1. Great subjects, you really found their personalities in the two closeups. The race was so close, it made for a great full frame shot. I know how difficult it can be to shoot races like this, and both race shots are really well framed, but the bottom one (imo) is better as a complete photo. The focus is better on the lead horse, and the pack is entirely in the frame. Of course the lead horse in the top photo looks like he’s flying, and flying horses are awesome.

    You drove horse carriages through the city for a living? That sounds like a fantastic job… no wonder you recognized the Friesian in my post.

    August 16, 2011 at 1:14 am

    • I’ve been a horse nut since childhood and never outgrew it.

      I agree with you that the second photo is better, I just wish the first had turned out better since as you mentioned, flying horses are awesome! I tried going down to ground level and getting a spot on the rail to shoot from, but it seems I picked my spot a little too well, all three track photographers were standing in front of me! Next time I’m moving down the track a bit to be closer to the turn.

      August 16, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

