Blue

4 responses

  1. Hi. Great shot, beautiful colours and congratulations on keeping it unaware of you and your camera… how close were you able to get?

    August 20, 2011 at 1:35 am

    • Thanks, I was able to pretty close, within a couple of feet, leaning over a rail. This was taken at the local zoo so even the wild animals and insect life are pretty used to people coming close. The big challenge was the breeze! Everything was swaying to and fro so the butterfly was only in the frame about half the time.

      August 20, 2011 at 6:21 am

      • I hate wind. I do a lot of floral stuff, so any kind of breeze leaves me standing there like an idiot waiting for the flower to stop rocking.

        It’s even cooler knowing the butterfly is behind bars… some of the lines on the wings look like scars. It’s a butterfly with a past.

        August 20, 2011 at 8:04 pm

  2. Heh, wait until you see the next butterfly I plan I posting, he was a bruiser and a scrapper!

    Most of the macro floral and plants I’ve done were inside the local Conservatory, so I get extra frustrated in situations like this. I actually have to remind my self to breathe and just let it happen when it does. In this shot there was a pretty steady gust that held the butterfly’s wings down and open, so in the end the wind actually helped me!

    August 20, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

