Just Fun

So sometimes (read as “most of the time”) I take everything too seriously and get frustrated that I’m not taking the “perfect” shot.  Which leads me to feel like I suck at photography, which leeches all the fun out of taking pictures.  As it turns out all I needed was an evening out with a fun friend and my camera to turn it all around for me.  Meet Angela, who is telling her ghostly self off.

OK fine so long exposure night shots like this aren’t high art, or even middling art, but they are an absolute hoot to produce.  Angela helped remind why I got into the whole photography thing to begin with.  Because it is fun.

So we wandered Grant Park for awhile and made it down to the Agora installation (which I love more than “The Bean” a.k.a. Cloud Gate) and Angela decided to play a game of tag with herself.  Which you can do in a long exposure.  I was laughing like a giddy school girl through the whole thing.

Screw making “art”, I’m out to have some fun!

 

4 responses

  1. I should have a friend like Angela to help me realize why I got into photography.

    October 16, 2011 at 5:03 pm

  2. We all need an Angela in our lives!

    It feels so good to be shooting because I want to, rather than the chore it had become. I also have gotten to learn how much fun it is to take photos of people because of her.

    October 16, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  3. Nice shots. i hate tripods. You have made very good use here. It gave me ideas. And i always love to learn new things and have a new perspective. Don’t be hard on yourself. Photography is something often self taught. Not every day is inspiring. But from your posts you are on the right track. Lots of luck.

    October 17, 2011 at 5:34 pm

  4. I can’t help but be hard on myself, it is how I grow :)

    Seriously though, your tripod is your best friend. It may be annoying to lug it around with you everywhere but makes all the difference when you’re in a pickle.

    October 17, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

