Falconry 2012 part the first

It is that time of year again!  Welcome back to the Bristol Renaissance Faire, one of my favorite places on earth.  I made a point of catching the falconry session twice in hopes of catching one or two good photos, I’m fairly happy with year’s turn out.

 

First let me introduce you via linky to Flight of the Raptor, please check them out.  They provide the educational sessions for Bristol’s faire pretty much every year and no matter how many times I visit the show I am always impressed, enthralled, entertained and educated at the end.

I’ll start with the Harris hawks, always fantastic birds.

 

One of the more interesting things about Harris hawks is they will often work cooperatively.   Here two of the capture the lure and battle it in an impressive display of strength.

 

One of the things I love about Flight of the Raptor is Ray, the lead falconer.  His love of the birds and passion for falconry is magnificent.  Here he calms his more nervous hawk before hooding her.

As Ray says, falconry is based on respect and trust, if you respect the birds, you will earn their trust.

Oh really? Tell me more....

