Graffiti in School

On a recent trip to Cedar Lake I came to realize that I have high standards for graffiti both in content and artistic representation.   Most of what I see in Gary is involved, detailed and actually artistic to some level, even when it is just tagging.   Of course, there are exceptions to this.

pay me

 

But even when you can’t read it you can appreciate the level of effort someone put into it.

graffiti1

 

There was only one small section of hallway where lockers remained, and this was the area that got hit by taggers the most.

graffiti2

 

Some decided that the stairwells offered the best canvas for their work.

graffiti stairs

 

Still others made a patriotic display.graffiti and flag

 

In other places it gave a even more surreal feel to an already odd situation.

trophies and sam

 

 

5 responses

  1. Killer framing on a lot of these shots! I love the stairwell one. And I can NEVER read intricate tags. Is the point to be legible, or just identifiable and cool looking?

    January 8, 2013 at 12:15 pm

    • Thanks. I’ve often wondered myself about how hard tags are to read. I assume it kind of like listening to death metal. Outsiders can’t understand a word but those who are into it can, Otherwise it is just noise to be artistically interpreted by your preferences.

      January 10, 2013 at 8:35 am

  2. Your shot of the American flag & graffiti is amazing.

    January 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • Thanks! It is one of my favorites from this trip so that really means a lot to me.

      January 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

      • It’s a strong capture with social commentary and complexity. I wish I’d taken that. Hat’s off to you.

        January 18, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....