Risk

This was taken a couple of weeks ago at the church which I and Tabula Rasa have featured a few times recently.  As I was processing  it I  got to thinking about some the risks we take every time we go into one of these buildings.  This building in particular  is very popular and a lot of people in the Greater Chicagoland Area get their start in urban exploring here.  It has seen major motion pictures filmed in it and countless indie films have been shot here.  We have seen lingerie models doing photo shoots, and goth models, heck we even did a drag queen shoot here ourselves.

In a subtle way this lulls one into thinking “This building is safe.”, when that is far from the truth of the matter.  I’ve mentioned that I’ve come close to being murdered by pigeons knocking bricks loose from the ceiling and that is just one of the dangers one encounters in a building like this.

Walls are crumbling, the roof is collapsing, the floors are getting questionable in a few places and the stairs are littered with debris.  In some places they are nearly unpassable and some are so damaged they are totally unusable.  In a few buildings you can actually see where people have fallen through the stairs and I wonder how much longer this particular location has before someone is injured and the city makes an effort to keep people out.  Not that it will stop them.

trusty stairs

 

4 responses

  1. I thought that I was the only idiot with a camera and now I have to accept there is another one out there. The posted image has great texture and color.

    March 1, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    • Hey Ron, thanks for the compliment! I suspect that you and I are not the only idiots with cameras, but we are among the elites who admit it. (Indeed, my co-blogger Tabula Rasa might be a bit of idiot photographer too, shhhhhhhhh, don’t tell him I said so.)

      March 1, 2013 at 10:34 pm

      • tabularasa88

        I do indeed own up to my idiocy.

        March 2, 2013 at 8:19 am

      • That is why we put up with each other.

        March 2, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

