Regrets

 

 

One of the most painful lessons learned over the past few years is that one can never assume just because you can visit something later what you want to photograph will still be there.    When we first explored the church/dance hall buildings all the seats were still intact on the balcony level and the back two or three rows were still on the main floor.  I never took photos of them for some stupid reason.  Mind you I’ve had something like 5 years to do so.

On one of our last trips I thought about shooting a series of the upper balcony, but we were pressed for time and I figured I could do so on the next visit, it wasn’t like someone was going to come through and totally remove all the seats with out a trace, right?

upper deck windows

I deeply regret not shooting that photo when I had the chance, it would not have taken me more than a few minutes, but now the opportunity to do so is gone forever.  When I walked up to the balcony on this trip I just froze, dumb struck.   This is all that is left

last standing

 

Lesson learned, no matter how short time may be getting for our trip I will not take any chances, I’ll take the shot I see.

4 responses

  1. tabularasa88

    I feel that way about places we’d not visited that are gone now.

    March 4, 2013 at 6:20 pm

  2. I took a photo within the ruins of a mansion in Harriman State Park about 8 years ago. Just stone walls and foundations, really. No furniture, painted surfaces, no roof even. There was a chimney protruding in on the inside wall, which I’d taken a photo of. The last time I was there, that entire side of the chimney had collapsed. It’s nice having that photo, and knowing you’ve captured something that’s now gone.

    March 4, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  3. I’m assuming the fallout from acts of vandalism? If so, disappointing. Wish more urban explorers would take the care to not disturb the environment.

    April 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    • I’m sure that it is vandalism, but I suspect it was mostly not from urban explorers. Gary’s buildings see a lot of vandalism. Could also have been scrappers I suppose. I remember the first time I went here (back in 2008) the lower level had 3 or 4 rows left in the back, and all the rows were pretty intact up on the balcony. Over the years they have slowly vanished.

      April 27, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

