Sofa Hell

The other day I showed you the stairs to Sofa Hell, the stairs that no one in their right mind will attempt to climb.   A few years before we had poked around the building for a bit and BentBottle had noticed a way into the second floor but it was as we were on our way out.  He never mentioned this to me but had said he wanted to go back.

Before our most recent trip we were discussing where we wanted to go, and I remembered BentBottle’s request and suggested we give it a try, Tabula Rasa agreed so we headed off on our little adventure.  On the way in I got distracted by mason jars so they made it inside before I did.  My first view of Sofa Hell, if you look close you’ll see BentBottle skulking in the background.

Sofa Hell

 

The entire floor is like this, there are a couple of open places and narrow paths to work your way through the heaps of dead and decaying furniture.

rotten chair

It is the hell of bad upholstery, collapsing walls, broken windows and fallen drop ceilings.  The stalactites are pretty cool though.

Second Floor

I had thought we would find more signs of parties and wanton destruction but other than the piles of furniture and some random garbage, not really.  Though there were a lot children’s toy scattered around on the third floor.  Go figure.

3 responses

  1. Excellent, I was looking for a couch…

    April 1, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    • Well boy howdy, I’ve got some couches for you to pick from! I’m kinda surprised at all the furniture left behind, for some reason I would have expected more of it to be looted or destroyed. Guess there just wasn’t a demand for it.

      April 2, 2013 at 9:05 pm

  2. Pingback: Feral Chairs | The Idiot Photographer

Oh really? Tell me more....

