Hints

One of the most striking things about the Grief Brothers factory is how empty it is.  The main building is massive, and yet there is not one bit of machinery left behind.  In one of the smaller outbuildings I came across this floor mount and breaker box for 460volts, yet another hint as to what might have once been here.

460 volts

 

In another, larger outbuilding which is curiously wedge shaped, I found Number 4 sitting next to an office.  What Number 4 is I don’t know.  I  find myself wondering how many other numbers there were, or if there were multiple machines with a giant “No. 4” on them?  I also wonder who made the machines.  It is a curiosity to me, the manufacturers of manufacturing machinery.  All these things have to come from somewhere, and who made the machine that made this machine?  Were I a little more capable of conducting research I’d look all this up.  Somewhere out there is a company that not only makes machines for other companies to make stuff on, but manufactures their own machines.  And that would be super cool to see.

old number 4

 

Next to the wedge building there is a mysteriously uncovered and mostly wall-less building.  Here one can find large steel barrels not just sitting in the open but also hidden in the undergrowth to either side of the building.  Why are these here, what were they for?  They are the little hints that speak of the time when this place was a busy, bustling industrial location.

4 barrels

 

4 responses

  1. tabularasa88

    You made something of that bare warehouse. Nice.

    May 29, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  2. That thing is definitely not a giant casting of an old-school dumbbell, but it makes me laugh to think it was.

    May 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

