Standing Water

 

moss and clothes

Water proof foot wear is a must in this hobby.  I shudder to think of what microbial horrors are breeding in the pools of standing water scattered through out this location and I’m not even going to consider the boon to the local mosquito population.  I don’t mind splashing through a mossy little puddle but there were some places I just did not go because I was unwilling to risk even the tiniest bit of exposure to stagnant water.

Like here:

snb flooded room

Mind you, I had to push through some serious greenery to get to this view and risk picking up a tick or two (which I didn’t, thankfully)  but there was no way I was going to go wading through here to get to the room on the other side.  I went all the way around the building, and this is the only way to get into that room.  I’m going to take the sour grapes view and assume that is in not an interesting room at all.

 

 

Last time we were here I contemplated photographing this entry, but felt rather uninspired by it.  This time around the light quality was just right and I saw that magical something which transformed a flooded room into a flooded cave of mystery.  I went ahead and bracketed the shot and when I got home thought the image so uninteresting I didn’t even bother to run it through the post processing.  Then a few days I later I was processing the second batch of photos and decided to give it a chance.  Were it not for the happenstance of the HDR presets being set for a more interpretative form of HDR than I usually use I probably would have tossed the photo but when I saw this I was charmed all over again.   Normally I aim for more realism, but it was not called for here.

flooded cave

2 responses

  1. I love reflections in water and the middle picture gets a like from me. I usually look for outdoor reflections, preferably with trees involved but this is something different.

    June 9, 2013 at 11:25 am

  2. Thanks, that is my favorite shot of this set.

    You get a lot of cool surprises in these buildings. Over the past winter I encountered a hallway with the floor totally covered in ice, on the fourth floor.

    June 9, 2013 at 11:37 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

