If You’ve Ever Wondered

Have you ever wondered?  About the stories of these buildings Tabula Rasa and I spend so much time poking around in and taking photos of?

 

I’ve wondered quite a bit, but I am not very good at research, much less at writing.  So when the opportunity came up to work with Sometimes Interesting I jumped for it.  He kindly offered a collaboration; he would do all the hard work of research and writing and I would have all the fun of of running around taking photos.  This is the little project I’d been working on for the past couple of months.

 

It began as him writing one article, which got to be too long so it became two, then three.  Then we realized everyone was having too much fun and it would be best to just go building by building or these articles would just be too damn long.  So if you’ve ever wondered about the history of Mahencha Apartments, head on over and he’ll tell you all about it.  As he posts I’ll give you all notifications.  I’m excited to learn more of the history of these magnificent buildings that have been abandoned and left to fall one their own, I hope you are too.

 

robins

8 responses

  1. I wonder most about when you guys are going to run into the psychopaths making use of these places. Careful, mates ;-)

    June 4, 2013 at 12:32 am

  2. I wonder about that all the time. I’m an urban explorer myself and I find these buildings so damn fascinating, while my friends and husband say I should stop my obsession, because of danger. Danger Smanger. I go prepared.

    June 4, 2013 at 12:38 am

  3. tabularasa88

    Honestly, as far as the previous comments go, we’ve never had a problem. Any people we’ve bumped into have been nice. It does help that we’ve usually been there on Sunday morning/afternoons, when your run of the mill crackhead is still sleeping.

    June 4, 2013 at 2:41 pm

    • In all these years we’ve run into what? One homeless person, and a whole lot of urbexers. First time we went to Grief Brothers I scared the hell out of a pair of them actually.

      Fear not, should we have an encounter of the psychopath kind and live, we’ll tell you all about it. If you’re really lucky we’ll even have photos.

      June 4, 2013 at 8:10 pm

  4. I very much appreciate the plug. This project couldn’t have happened without you guys, so I definitely thank you back! :)

    I can share a one-time scary urbex story: I was with the lady in Kauai a couple of years ago. We were exploring the long-abandoned Coco Palms Hotel (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coco_Palms_Resort) , and we came across a corner and stumbled across some locals swinging machetes.

    Machetes!

    We were about ready to get the heck outta Dodge when I noticed they had a wheelbarrow nearby with a bunch of coconuts in it. They were just retrieving the damn coconuts from the huge garden in the back of the property. Doh! Haha

    I had taken over a hundred pictures of the place, but today I don’t know where the pictures are. SO pissed. Otherwise it would have been a story on S-I by now. Doh x2!

    June 5, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    • tabularasa88

      That’s awesome. Yeah, we’ve always said that the people in abandoned buildings have more reason to be scared of us than we of them. I mean, if you’re tough and got your shit together, you’re probably not living in a derelict church. Sucks about Hawaii, though. Would’ve loved to see that.

      June 5, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    • Yeah, that would have given me a bit of a start as well!

      Who knows, perhaps you’ll stumble across the photos one day. There have been a few times I thought I’d lost photos (both film and digital) and they turned up. I’d love to see the place through your eyes.

      June 5, 2013 at 8:54 pm

  5. What a great idea collaborating with another blogger, brilliant idea. I’ll be viewing and reading with interest.

    June 9, 2013 at 11:19 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

