Bass

Emerson Random Room

8 responses

  1. AWESOME!!

    June 5, 2013 at 8:57 pm

  2. That’s a bass. I’m literally almost crying here. What is it with Gary and abandoned musical instruments.

    June 5, 2013 at 9:00 pm

    • Thanks for the clarification, I’ll correct that.

      This school was an arts school, so there were more instruments than normal in particular here. It is terribly sad to see them left and vandalized, such a waste.

      June 5, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      • Awe okay, that makes sense. She is not damaged beyond repair though. Do you ever shoot with models? I would love to have a shoot with you sometime. Oneday when I get to visit the States, that is.

        June 5, 2013 at 10:49 pm

  3. You should see if you can “rescue” some of those instruments. Try telling a local music store about it, seriously. This room looks almost move-in ready.

    June 5, 2013 at 11:59 pm

  4. Koker- We’ve done a shoot with drag queens :) We don’t do shoots with people much, but are always willing to give it a go. Next time my friends from the UK come here we’re going take them out on a shoot, goths in Gary! When you get here, we’ll take your photo too.

    Never- I always figured what ever instruments we found were beyond hope given the horrible conditions they’ve sitting in for the past 10 to 50 years.

    June 6, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  5. I’d have to agree that the instruments you find are likely far beyond repair. Wood needs consistent temperature and humidity, otherwise intonation and tone are lost. It also gets warped, brittle and fragile. I agree it’s a shame, I love musical instruments and would love to rescue every one I see a photo of in these abandoned places. Short of a sterling silver flute still in its case, I wouldn’t hold much hope of finding anything worth saving.

    Oh and, FWIW… at first glance I thought the graffiti spelled out LABIA. Just thought I’d share. :D

    June 14, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    • HAhahahaha! That is EXACTLY what I thought when I first saw it too!

      June 14, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

