The Turning Point

Before I get to my latest offering, a quick plug. Those of you that visit this blog recently have seen a lot of pictures of the fantastic ruins of Gary, Indiana. If you’ve ever wondered about the stories of some of these edifices, fellow blogger Sometimes-Interesting has an ongoing series of posts documenting some of the most notable buildings, using many of our photographs. The stories deserve a wider audience, and anyone interested in the hows and whys of the decline of our favorite rust belt city should check him out here.

Today’s picture illustrates a point that I’ve reached on just about all of my forays abroad. There usually comes a time a day or two into a trip when I seem to hit a wall. The immediate reasons vary, but inevitably it is a crisis of doubt: “why did I come here?” “I planned this all wrong” “I hope the U.S. consulate can claim my body.”  Whatever the case, I usually just work through it. Sometimes a good dinner at some restaurant with a few drinks helps. This time, however, at a moment when I had recently left Reykjavik and struck out into a strange country, unsure of how this excursion would go, I made a turn and found myself facing this:

sunbeams2

Shafts of Light

I’m not religious, nor even spiritual in the least. But this sight made me take a deep breath and believe I’d come to the right place. I hope the pictures that follow bear me out.

4 responses

  1. truly awesome pic..know exactly how you must of fell seen this view in person…amazing !

    June 20, 2013 at 8:54 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thank you!

      June 20, 2013 at 9:43 pm

  2. “I hope the U.S. consulate can claim my body.” :D

    I can only imagine how breathtaking it was in person. And danke fur dein plug, herr Rasa!

    June 23, 2013 at 1:47 am

    • tabularasa88

      Bitte, Herr von Interesting.

      June 23, 2013 at 10:36 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

