Black & White

I’ve shot a lot of pool in my life. I played competitively a bit, and it was interesting to try to gauge the skill of your opponent by how he or she presented themselves. Something that would always get a rise out of me was meeting a player who had his own very expensive cue and case, a glove, and myriad other accoutrements, that I would proceed to beat soundly. I’m of the mind that your equipment should match your skills, otherwise you can look ridiculous.
So it is with photography, where I’ve waited until I felt my skills justified the investment before upgrading equipment. But even technique or editing gets this scrutiny for me; I feel you should be ready for it.  HDR, for example, is a rather advanced tool that can be dangerous in unskilled hands. (For a compelling rant on that subject, see The Idiot Photographer‘s recent post here.) And, though others would disagree, I might put black and white photography in this category, though mainly because I feel I abused it early on. With the recent trip to Iceland, however, I decided to tackle my reluctance head on, since much of that country’s landscape is seemingly made for B&W. Here is an HDR shot that has been desaturated into a sepia tone, as well as other editing tweaks. I think I’ve worked this shot so long I’ve lost the ability to be objective about it anymore; I’ll leave it to the reader to decide if this came out well, or if it is Frankenstein’s monster of photography.

RavineHDR2BW.2

Rift Valley Ravine.

9 responses

  1. I’d call this one a winner. Normally I’m not a fan of sepia-tone but you got it work here.

    June 30, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks. I think sepia can get hokey when it’s trying to make things look olde and nostalgic, but I liked it here.

      June 30, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  2. Wow, awesome! This is literally unearthly beautiful.

    July 1, 2013 at 2:14 am

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks! I guess I was trying for unearthly, I’m glad it worked.

      July 1, 2013 at 6:31 am

  3. What a view!

    July 1, 2013 at 10:59 am

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks! I tried capturing the feel of the place.

      July 1, 2013 at 5:26 pm

  4. Pingback: Black & White II | The Idiot Photographer

  5. I like it. The HDR makes the detail in the rock pop, not unlike the cracked wallpaper shots in the abandoned buildings.

    July 1, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks, SI. That is what I was hoping for. Sometimes you nurse a shot for so long that you don’t know what it really looks like anymore.

      July 2, 2013 at 6:35 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

