Atop a Volcano

I’m not sure if this is a great shot, but, by god, I was going to post it after what I went through to get it.
I’ve mentioned Heimaey before, the island of 1973 volcanic eruption fame. It was there I encountered the worst weather I would face in Iceland, with stiff 40mph winds and sideways rain that chilled to the bone. I had made up my mind to climb the volcano on the heart of the island. I had also lost my wool hat, and my hands were freezing. Nothing to do but run down to the town and purchase some gear. The Icelandic outerwear store 66° North (similar to the NorthFace in the States) had a shop in the small downtown. I knew they were expensive, but what choice did I have? 10000ISK (about $100USD) later, I had a hat and gloves. I can’t grouse; beggars can’t be choosers, the gear was excellent, and allowed me to brave the extreme winds on the ascent. The climb was tough but steady, and I reached the summit safely. Once there, I had to keep my camera inside my sweatshirt to shield it from rain until the moment I was ready for an exposure. The results were, well, spotty. But I’d be damned if I didn’t post at least one shot to make me feel that the whole hullabaloo was worthwhile. So, with storytime over, here it is.

volcano.2

Top of the World, Ma!

 

5 responses

  1. It is a great shot, don’t you worry :-)

    July 7, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Well, thank you! Sometimes, you go through a lot of pain and misery for a shot that turns out to be crap, so the positive feedback feels vindicating.

      July 7, 2013 at 4:13 pm

      • I know what you mean! (about both points) Keep up the good work and those shots we try so hard to get, always seem worth it. Also I think if you’ve gone through a lot of effort, it shows in your snaps i reckon :-)

        July 7, 2013 at 4:27 pm

  2. I think that shot is great! There is this excellent, other-worldly atmosphere about it. The red cast adds so much feel to it. I’d be pretty proud of that shot, and the story behind it, if I were you!

    July 8, 2013 at 8:26 am

    • tabularasa88

      Thank you! It was the red that drew my attention, too.

      July 8, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

