Valley

A campground in a remote valley was where I spent my third night in Iceland. Getting there was an adventure; high winds and rain made driving treacherous, and dense fog kept my destination obscured. When I woke the next morning, the winds had calmed and the fog had lifted somewhat, and I could see my surroundings. The flat valley where I had camped was surrounded on three sides by steep mountains, cut through by gorges that trailed up into the hills until fading into the mist. I’m not prone to using adjectives like ‘magical’ or ‘enchanted’, those words having been worn out from repeated use on Disney movies, but here I humbly suggest their meaning might be restored.

greenvalley3wp

Verdant 1

 

 

greenValley2.2wp

Verdant 2

 

6 responses

  1. Amazing terrain, sick captures!

    July 8, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks Kurt. These were fun (and relatively easy) to shoot. Glad you like them!

      July 10, 2013 at 8:09 pm

  2. :jawdrop:

    Curious – what was the ambient temperature where these were taken? So beautiful.

    magic sidebar: wish there were good magicians these days. I watched Criss Angel’s show once, all he did was make 30 minutes of my life disappear. :(

    July 10, 2013 at 5:24 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Hey-hey! He’ll be here at the ChuckleHut all week, folks! But seriously… The temperature was pretty much a constant 50 degrees 24/7. Since the sun barely sets, there’s not much night, hence little temperature fluctuation.

      July 10, 2013 at 8:08 pm

  3. Absolutely gorgeous!

    July 15, 2013 at 9:42 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks, Cynthia! This was probably the most striking place I visited.

      July 15, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

