Abandoned Farms of Iceland

Those of you who have followed this blog for a while know that the Idiot Photographer and I are quite fond of ruined and abandoned buildings. That said, I wasn’t expecting to find many abandoned factories in Iceland. So it was a bit of a surprise to come across many abandoned farms across the country. What they lack in size and scale they sure make up for in background, and I found myself in the familiar position of documenting ruins on a trip where that had been the furthest thing from my mind.

 

abandonedFarmWP

Seaside Ruins

 

abandonedFarm2WP

Farmhouse Ruins

 

 

13 responses

  1. Wow, they are absolutely stunning! I love photographs of abandoned buildings but it is the background and colour that make these photos so magical.

    July 11, 2013 at 9:59 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thank you! I should probably say that these pictures practically took themselves. With mountains or the sea as a backdrop, you don’t need much skill to get a nice shot. That said, I’m glad they’re my shots :)

      July 11, 2013 at 10:23 pm

  2. Iceland is truly mesmerising!

    July 12, 2013 at 7:23 am

    • tabularasa88

      Yes, it is. I’m beginning to wind this series down, but if you like the country, check out some of the previous posts.

      July 13, 2013 at 8:05 am

  3. Wow.

    July 12, 2013 at 9:56 am

    • tabularasa88

      I’ll take that as a complement.

      July 12, 2013 at 12:17 pm

      • It is. They’re beautiful shots!

        July 12, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  4. Absolutely gorgeous!!

    July 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks! Every corner of this country was a photo-op. Just mind boggling.

      July 13, 2013 at 8:06 am

  5. Great shots TR. The brilliant colors really describe a different side of Iceland from your B&W series.

    I can’t be the only one who wants to frolic in those fields, right? :D

    July 14, 2013 at 1:00 am

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks, SI. As frolicking goes, everything is cold and wet, so I opted for a dignified gambol.

      July 14, 2013 at 6:01 pm

  6. These are FANTASTIC.

    July 16, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thank you, I appreciate that!

      July 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

