Skylight & Bookshelf

During our most recent trip to Gary, we covered mostly old ground. This  was mostly in deference to a new friend we’ll call “The Spaniard.” He’s new to Gary’s, um, charms, and eager to see what there is to see. In return we hope to plumb his knowledge of some of Chicago’s urbex landmarks. Thus we found ourselves in Edison Elementary again, where again I found myself in the Skylit Room. The Idiot Photographer and I have both shot this corner of the school previously; she’s got a beautiful HDR shot to show for it. As for myself, I remained unsatisfied with my former efforts. So, this time I opted for the low angle and a bit of vignetting, and I’m a bit more pleased. A fair criticism would be that it’s too dark a shot, but I’ve been digging that aesthetic lately, and I hope it works here.

 

Bookcase.wp

Bookshelf in Shadows.

 

2 responses

  1. I have an odd fascination for this room. I dig your interpretation, I think it helps to capture the aura a bit.

    August 15, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    • tabularasa88

      All thanks to my new 10mm lens.

      August 15, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

