Film

8 11 3 gary 1893

I’m kind of regretting not snagging that projector I saw in Emerson school, since I found this in Beckman school.  At first I thought they were paints, but when I pulled the box out of the closet it was hiding in I saw that it was actually a collection of PSA films for class.  Something today’s kids are not subjected to but (possibly out of some mild malice) I feel that they should be.  Who didn’t love mocking these things?

 

Edited to add-

Turns out the are slide-show style films, a few should have records to go with them for soundtracks, but alas they are lost.  I’ll be taking photos of some frames on a lightbox and posting them in a few weeks.  In the meantime consider this:

 Slideshow film strip,circa 1955 (a sampling):
“Junior High Graded Word Phrases.
“The words used in these film strips on phrases were selected from a study made on word count in leading basic readers and textbooks that are commonly used on the Junior High level [grade 7 and 8].
“To the students: …Think about what each phrase says. Your teacher will tell you how he wants you to tell him the phrase.” [I’m daring you all to use the last one in a coherent sentence]

“vital to the republic”
“followed the regiment”
“an accidental meeting”
“volunteer for services”
“a monstrous guillotine”
“was exceedingly cordial”
“to observe in propriety”
“request complete harmony”
“held in somber reverence”
“had undulating intentions”

Seriously, there are college level students that would be left googly eyed and drooling trying to participate in this exercise today.

5 responses

  1. You totally should’ve. Maybe on your next visit. I want to snag that bass you took a pic of. Hope it’s still there by the time I get to visit.

    August 15, 2013 at 2:57 am

    • Given how rarely there is access to that building I doubt that bass is going anywhere. That and it is too big to be easily removed so chances are it will be all yours. We’ll have to get a bigger car though…..

      August 15, 2013 at 5:56 am

  2. Great find. I’d be dying to see what’s on them too!

    Laughing at the old PSAs. Of course those proved to be such great material for MST3K…

    August 15, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    • I’ve taken photos of over half of them, now I must edit and organize. Sadly most of them require the record that came with them for full amusement but many have text on the frames. Hopefully I’ll be posting those later this week.

      August 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

