Keep Locked

keep locked

Welcome to Beckman School, a little blue school complex down on Gary’s south side.  I found it on google maps around the same time I found Grief Brothers, but this was the first opportunity we had to wander over and take a look.  I have to say, it was the oddest building I’ve ever been in.  The construction is fairly modern, I’d put it somewhere around the 19070’s, and all of the windows are gone.  There is some evidence that Gary once tried to keep it sealed, such as welding the doors shut, but since all of the windows are gone (and part of one wall) this doesn’t matter.

There is very little trash around, and even less graffiti.  The lockers are all intact and there is a wide selection of desks and chairs to choose from but other than that there is nothing left inside.  Even the hanging ceiling tiles are gone, and the braces that they hung from.  The one thing that got left behind at this location was something that broke my heart a little.  The books.

beckman library

You may notice the other oddity about this building.  That is not an electric light shining there.  That is a skylight designed for hanging ceilings which provides no view but offers a fair amount of natural light to the room.  All of the second floor halls and most of the rooms on this end of the building had them.  Personally I think this is an excellent idea and all schools should have them where possible.  Natural light is more likely to keep people engaged than florescent light, though the unnatural florescent lights do prepare a person for toiling hours upon end in a windowless office with no hope.

9 responses

  1. ________ Just forget to do________ :)

    August 14, 2013 at 8:32 am

  2. Wow that is incredibly sad that the books were left behind…you think they could have at least donated them! I love these pictures of abandoned schools, they are so melancholy and eerie.

    August 14, 2013 at 9:02 am

    • Alex

      I agree. Why take the furniture and, by the looks of things, the ceiling, and yet leave the books on the shelves? Makes no sense, and I am sure there would be plenty of people or schools/institutions who would take those books.

      On a lighter note, another great photo from the Idiot Photographer. He should take people on tours of these things, I would love to explore old abandoned stuff like this.

      August 14, 2013 at 6:23 pm

      • For the life of me I cannot explain why the neatly shelved books were left and the ceiling tiles taken. This building offers a perplexing visual narrative that I have yet to fully understand. As I mentioned to Koker, there were also 3 upright pianos in this building, all functional and they didn’t sound too bad, yet there they sit, abandoned.

        Thanks for the compliment Alex! Funny you mention tours, not that I’m going to offer them, but that on this trip we went to 2 of the most popular locations in Gary and saw other photographers doing model shoots which I only sort of understand. We’re hoping to do another shoot with drag queens this fall, but in my mind that makes more sense than having some uptight yuppies or teens in abercrappie and bitch clothes posing for us.
        If you’re interested in urbex try looking for a meet up group in your location and go from there.

        August 14, 2013 at 10:09 pm

  3. No pianos perhaps? :)

    August 14, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    • Actually, there were three pianos. I’ve gotten so used to there being pianos I actually forgot about them!

      August 14, 2013 at 9:57 pm

      • Meh. :( I wanna see pictures. It’s a bit of an obsession actually. A grand perhaps or just uprights?

        August 14, 2013 at 10:26 pm

      • They were uprights, all parked in a corner and hard to get a decent photo of, but you’ll see something of them in a future post this week!

        August 14, 2013 at 10:33 pm

  4. This is great! Man, I really wish I could explore this stuff too. At least I can live vicariously through your pictures, thanks IP! :)

    Maybe the books say evolution doesn’t exist? Just kidding.

    August 15, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

