Invasion

This is the time of year we are invaded by the singing choir of cicadas.  I couldn’t live anywhere that I wouldn’t get to hear them sing even if I do find them freaky and will flip my lid if one lands on me.

 

cicada face

 

Since they start emerging in midsummer and keep on coming through August we get to find empty little larva shells stuck to trees and bushes for months on end.  I’ve always wanted to catch one emerging from the shell but have never had the luck.  This time I found one that had emerged but the carapace had not yet hardened so it is still green and unable to fly.

 

cicada and shell

I found this one on a tree right on the parkway of my street, so of course I couldn’t get more than a photo in before the neighbors decided to ask what the hell I was up to.  They couldn’t understand why on earth on someone would want to take a photo of a bug that wasn’t a butterfly, but I figure that is fair since I don’t really understand why they aren’t interested in an animal that is such a loud part of their lives.  One even invited me to a “green” building/garden walk to see the local buildings that are “Eco-friendly”, but she promised there no were bugs except worms and butterflies.   Which tells me they are not as Eco-friendly as they think they are.

cicada green

I think I’ll stay with documenting the yearly cicada invasion, thank you very much.

5 responses

  1. tabularasa88

    Great shots, even if they make me want to bash each of the little fuckers with a sandal.

    August 19, 2013 at 8:36 pm

    • Aw, no need to resort to violence, unless they land on you, then they’re fair game.

      August 20, 2013 at 9:12 pm

  2. We have them too. I once in a tired stuper hung out the window shouting shut up to Korean bugs in Afrikaans. They’re do loud. I found a dead one a while ago and took the wing off and had it laminated. The only pretty part of the whole bug.

    August 20, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    • The wings are pretty, aren’t they? I’ve seen uglier bugs than cicadas, like just about every beetle out there.
      I had one perched on my window sill the other day, the sill to my OPEN window. The cats were losing their furry little minds over how loud it was inside my little apartment.

      August 21, 2013 at 9:48 am

      • Haha. Poor cats. Yeah. I’m just relieved that they stop their mating calls at night, else I’d freak. Yip, helping my sister with her entomology project really showed me some nightmarish bugs back home in South Africa. Eek!

        August 21, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

