The Crown Jewel of Gary, Indiana

The ruins of the Methodist church are what every urban explorer sees when they come to Gary, often to the exclusion of all else. And it’s easy to see why: it is readily accessible and packs a visual wollup. The Idiot Photographer and I have been coming here for years, and it’s hard not to sneer when a fresh-faced thing hanging out by the church one Sunday morning asks you, “are you here for the photogroup meetup?” No, I want to say, I could be the Goddamned curator here. But my hipster is showing. Every time I think I’ve done all I can do at this location, I find myself surprised. When we took The Spaniard here a weekend ago, I saw what my new 10mm lens could do from the floor of the nave. Oh, Methodist church, I will never doubt you again!

methoditHDR2.wp

Hipster-Proof.

9 responses

  1. just fantastic!!!

    August 20, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thank you.

      August 20, 2013 at 10:24 pm

  2. This is just magnificent!

    I swear this spot is more popular every year, and the Chicago urbex meetup group does a meeting here about every month so I suppose we had better get used to them. Still, I can’t think of a better place for them to start, especially if it keeps them away from Grief Brothers. If I start seeing the heaps of trash there that are accumulating in City United I think I might go a little postal.

    August 20, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    • tabularasa88

      I think it best to take a ‘no ownership’ stance towards these places. I too would rather not see the church trashed, but I can’t regret the openness of the place that also makes our photography possible. And though I bitch about it above, I also can’t begrudge the growing number of people who’ve been coming around. All these places are doomed, let all who may come see them.

      August 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm

      • I don’t begrudge the newbies at all, I enjoy seeing the excitement on their faces as they take it in. However I’m going to resent the hell out the people who leave trash all over these buildings because they’re too damn lazy to take it with them and throw it out in a garbage can. There are actually urbex groups who go through every now and again to clean up the popular locations such as the church and post office. It is a good thing too or you wouldn’t be able to see the rubble on the floor for all the plastic bottles.

        August 20, 2013 at 11:42 pm

  3. Lovely!!!

    August 20, 2013 at 10:22 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Thanks!

      August 20, 2013 at 11:03 pm

  4. Alex

    This looks like many places in Ireland, abandoned church ruins.

    It also looks like a scene in the last of us…

    August 21, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    • tabularasa88

      Haven’t played the game, but I’ve thought about the similarity to ruins in Ireland before. This isn’t nearly as old, though.

      August 21, 2013 at 7:42 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

