City United in Green

As Tabula Rasa posted last night regarding City United Methodist Church I decided to share another angle on the location.  Before I do so I want to touch on something that is a bit of a pet peeve for me.  If you’re new to urbex then locations like this are great starting points, it has very easy access (just walk right in) and is reasonably safe (as these things go).  If you’re shooting your indie movie here, great!  I support you 100%!  However, please please please don’t leave heaps of trash behind you.  There is a marked difference between the rubble of decay and abandoned items that come with abandoned locations versus the garbage of film crew or a pack of new explorers on a meetup group.  There is also a marked difference between the graffiti of a talented writer and some hack with a can of spray paint.  Basically, if you don’t want to photograph it then don’t leave it for future explorers to deal with.  There is a meetup group who goes through yearly to clean the trash out of this place, let’s make it so they don’t have to.  With that said, moving right along…

Every time we have gone there Tabula Rasa has stated that he has done all he can with the location, and afterwards realized that he has walked away with better shots than last time.  There are a few locations I insist on visiting nearly every year as the state of decay dictates there will be large changes in the buildings, and as we are improving as photographers we are now seeing things we have missed previously.   I’m going to hold him to his claim that he will never doubt this church again, since I now have it in writing.

The time of year that you visit also plays a large role in how you perceive the location, in this case we hadn’t been to the church in midsummer for many years so we had something we usually miss out on.  The green and the growing.  While I was in the store front/theater/dance school area on the second floor I came across this view.  Previously I have complained that some idiot came through and chopped all the trees down (including a lovely, massive, old tree that has been there since the building went up) but if they had not done so I would have never seen this.  So I guess I don’t get to complain as much.

cumc

I’m not sure how much longer City United is going to be standing, every time we visit the floors are more and more unstable.  I do not think this building is at risk for demolition any time with in the next few decades as Gary doesn’t have enough money to even consider it, but I do predict that roof will come down over the nave within the next 5 years, and the store front will become impassable with in 10.  I’m being conservative here, I’m pretty convinced the flooring on the third floor is going to dump some poor newbie onto the second floor sometime with in the next 5 years, especially with sharp increase in urbex that I’ve been seeing in popular media over the past couple of years.

We will continue to stop by and say hello to this location so long as it stands, and I hope it remains for many more years.

3 responses

  1. tabularasa88

    Seriously, this looks like a still from some CGI movie. (in a good way) The light is perfect.

    August 21, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    • It suffered the compression pretty badly, the full sized version looks much better and not quite so CGI.

      August 21, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  2. Another lovely capture. Keep them coming. I can’t get enough of your pics of Gary!

    August 21, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

