Looking Closer

Stepping in closer to take in the details.

I smile fondly at the name Frick, remembering a dear friend who has passed on too soon.  This is the only place I’ve seen this name out of the context of her name.

Armour frick

Valves where everywhere, early automation wasn’t very automated and required many people to keep it running smoothly.

Armour valves

I’ve never seen one of these outside of an old cartoon, I was a little surprised that they actually existed as part of real machinery,

Armour details

3 responses

  1. Nice detail shots! the last is my favorite!

    October 26, 2013 at 12:12 pm

  2. Frick is short for Fredrick or Frederik. Most of the men on my mother’s side of the family is called Frik or Frikkie. It’s a common name in Dutch and Afrikaans. My brother is however very happy that my mom went against the traditions and didn’t call him that :) it’s a nice name, just highly overused in our family.

    October 27, 2013 at 4:34 am

    • Ok now that is just funny! Here I’ve only known it in the context of a last name.

      October 27, 2013 at 10:48 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

