The Bad News

So my main computer just died, normally this wouldn’t be a huge issue since I have this elderly computer to run as a back up and all my photographic work backed up onto an external hard drive.  However since my external hard drive is currently in a hundred little pieces in the dumpster (thanks for doing such a thorough job, cat.) I’m feeling totally screwed and more than a little despondent.

I will be attempting to rescue what I can from the old computer once I can get my brother on the case, but that won’t be until January or so.  In the mean time Tabula Rasa will do what he can to fill the void and I will be working on building my portfolio back up but posts from me are going to a little light over the next few months until I can afford a new computer and a trip to my brother’s place downstate.

8 responses

  1. Bad news indeed!

    November 22, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    • Very bad news indeed. The good news is that my computer whiz brother is going to be in my area this weekend so tonight he is prepping a new computer for me. Who knows, it may mean that I’ll be back up and operating next week.

      November 22, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  2. Potedude

    That sucks mate, I love following your exploits – keep the chin up. Australia is rooting for you…

    November 23, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    • Thanks man! At this point we have recovered about 50% of my work and it is looking like I might get everything back. I’m currently taking a break from watching my new computer list each photo as it copies it from the old corrupted to drive.

      November 24, 2013 at 10:03 am

  3. Damned! Better back up my stuff again! You will keep all the experience it took going into the shots you lost and your new ones will be even better! Sorry. Has to be really hard!

    November 24, 2013 at 4:52 pm

  4. My belated condolences, this kind of disaster is crap to deal with. Although since you’ve posted this, it sounds like you’ve been able to recover most of the files, so cheers to that – and your brother for coming through in the clutch! :)

    December 1, 2013 at 2:06 pm

    • My brother is pretty awesome, super clever with the computers and generous to a fault. I can’t thank him enough for all the work he did, and did quickly on my behalf. Not to mention he saved me over a grand by giving me a new-ish computer.

      December 2, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  5. My worst nightmare! I could only imagine that heart sinking feeling.

    December 22, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

