Oh Happy Day

I had thought that it would be a few months before I would be able to get my old computer to my brother to attempt data recovery but something went right for me and as it turned out he was planning on visiting my parents this past weekend.  He offered to bring me a new computer and back up drive and to try recovering my data right away.  Upon arriving at my parents house we had an additional set back, the power supply to the new computer blew a fuse.  We found ourselves a new fuse and tried it again, this time the power supply started arcing and the lights began flickering.  *sigh*  So we drove for an hour to the computer supply store that was open at 9pm on Saturday (Tiger Direct, you’re my heroes!) and bought a new one.  From there everything was smooth sailing, the issue with my old hard drive was sorted fairly quickly and almost everything was recovered, the important stuff (the source files) were saved!  I did lose a folder of finished images that I was going to have printed, but I can always go back and reprocess those images.  My back up now consists of an internal data drive plus an external back up drive and I have almost 6 terabytes of memory sitting on my desk.  I have my awesome brother to thank for all of this, he is the guy the pros go to when they’re having problems.  I also need to thank for my parents for allowing us to take over their kitchen for the weekend as it was the easiest place for us to meet and work on this issue.

brother

all hail the master nerd

I knew my old computer was dying before this happened and I was actually backing up the St. Louis and Detroit trip when everything went pear shaped.  My lesson has been learned and hopefully no one else out there has to go through what I did because they will back up all their work all the time in multiple spots.   I have forgiven The Niblet for smashing my hard drive, now I just need to fix the dent in the wall where it struck.  Never under estimate the power of frightened cat, that drive flew over 6 feet at a pretty high velocity before being suddenly stopped by the wall.  Regular posts by me will resume tonight after I’ve had a chance to sort through the mess of data, my organizational system was mostly preserved, but I haven’t had a chance to really go through everything.   As a bonus I now have a dual monitor setup so that should help smooth out my work flow by quite a bit.  I did lose all my programs in the computer failure, but Photomatix was the only thing that was not free shareware and they’ve already provided me with my software key so it is installed and ready to go.

Hopefully everyone has learned the lesson through my experience, back up often and in multiple spots!

6 responses

  1. tabularasa88

    Welcome back. Wondertwins power, ACTIVATE!

    November 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • The scary thing is that my brother and I have been known to use the wondertwins line. GET OUT OF MY BRAIN!

      November 26, 2013 at 9:26 pm

  2. Your brother looks overjoyed to work on that old computer! :)

    November 25, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    • Ha! That is actually the new computer shortly after the power supply attempted to self-immolate. Well, new to me, it isn’t the most current model on the market.

      November 26, 2013 at 9:20 pm

  3. WHEW! :D

    I went through a similar experience years ago. Since then, I’ve started to use backup external drives, RAID arrays, and cloud storage through multiple platforms. Overkill? Ha, you betcha! :)

    December 1, 2013 at 1:54 pm

  4. YEAH!!! I am glad you were able to recover your work! Phewwww :-)

    December 22, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

