School Murals

Perhaps one of the saddest aspects of abandoned schools are the murals left behind on the walls.  In the case of Best Academy, the hospital turned school, there were only three.  First we have the the mascot, which is the most sheepish looking “fierce” bulldog I’ve ever seen.

best bulldog

 

Down another hall was a reminder that dreams can become reality.  I was also a little ashamed that I can only identify a couple of these people.

 

Had a Dream

 

But the one that made me smile the most and the saddest was this.

 

not waiting

5 responses

  1. Alex

    Lol, the bulldog is almost cringing, perhaps because he knows how badly he/she is drawn.

    I work in a school so I know about the school pride and trying to instil a sense of belonging, but these are kinda bad. I guess the one about “They had a dream” is probably the best – but the superman, c’mon, its not great…

    December 5, 2013 at 7:19 pm

  2. tabularasa88

    Once again, evidence of how we can go to the same place at the same time and see different things. I missed these.

    December 5, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    • The bulldog was right at the entry, how could you have missed him?

      December 6, 2013 at 9:56 pm

      • tabularasa88

        I don’t remember him, at any rate. Sometimes we hone in on different things.

        December 6, 2013 at 10:07 pm

  3. I’ve seen worse…. much worse.

    December 6, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

