Arch and Alcove

Sometimes I take a photo that I really hope will come out well but am convinced that I am just wasting my time at.  Both of these images are exactly that.  In the case of the arch and vaulted ceiling I was battling the annoying dust inside of my lens that tends to show up quite well when the light hits it at a certain angle.  Of course, the ideal angle here was exactly the one which would show the most lens dust.  After I don’t know how long shooting angle after angle of this little alcove I came up with the arch detail which you’ve all already seen but failed to show off the vaulted ceiling.

MM ARCH

Then I found this little alcove on the opposite side of the altar (or stage, as I tend to think of it).  I had to do a quick clean up of the floor, which is something I rarely ever bother with, but in this case I just couldn’t leave it.  I was convinced that this shot was going to fail horribly but liked the idea so much I spent a good 10 minutes fussing about with it even after Tabula Rasa said he was ready to go.  I’m glad I did too, because it is on the top my list of personal favorites for the whole trip.

MM CHAIRS

I have a confession here, I had a really hard time admitting that I really like this shot.  Normally I’ll avoid mentioning which photos of mine I like the best, because in my experience the ones I like the most are not the most popular shots among my viewers.  Indeed I often find the shots I like the least get the most attention and I’m pretty sure that there is a trope for that, Old Shame is the closest thing I found to though given that it is the context of early work versus older it doesn’t quite fit.  In the case of this trip the one photo people have consistently given an overwhelming positive response to is the water tower reflection[ on the rooftop puddle, and I actually really dislike that shot.  A lot.  Don’t ask me why because that is just how it is.

7 responses

  1. I must say, i like both this photos, great colors and compo. I have, like you exprienced that my viewers often dont favor my own favorits…

    December 13, 2013 at 2:36 am

    • Thanks for the kind words. I think that every artist has to deal with that issue, just comes with the turf

      December 14, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  2. I think you might be overly critical of your shots IP – I think both of those look pretty good. :)

    December 13, 2013 at 4:52 pm

    • Me? Overly critical of my own work? Never! hahahaha

      I really like these two shots, and I know that the water tower shot isn’t bad but I just don’t like it very much. Perhaps because I could have done so much better.

      December 14, 2013 at 10:02 pm

  3. tabularasa88

    I think rock albums, being batches of work, might be a better analog. Whereas each show or movie is a discrete piece of work, even great albums can have clunkers on the B side, and mediocre albums can be saved by the one megahit.
    We all have nooks and crannies we fall in love with whose essence is very hard to capture on film. You seem to have done it to your own satisfaction on this “Alcove,” you should enjoy it guiltlessly.

    December 14, 2013 at 8:36 am

  4. The last shot is perfect… It tells a story. The clothes hanger on the floor adds to the shot. Great texture, color, POV and processing.

    December 22, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    • Thanks! This was easily one of my favorite locations in Detroit, you really had to look to find your shot but it was totally worth it!

      December 23, 2013 at 9:05 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

