Istanbul Streets

What makes a work of art great? I feel explaining the merits of a masterpiece is anticlimactic, like explaining a joke. I’ve found that my response to any art I’ve enjoyed is an ‘aha’ feeling, an emotional resonance. If the resonance is there, all else is merely commentary. It is always easy, however, to find and list faults of imperfect and flawed works. As I’ve mentioned before, all these recent shots from Turkey are several years old. I can’t help but pick them apart now with my more experienced eye; this implies that I could do better now, which is a dubious proposition.

I’m not entirely unhappy with the lot of my Istanbul pictures. That said, they needed more editing than I’d care to admit; after you’ve cropped, adjusted contrast, and endlessly fiddled with the color, you’re left wondering if you’re just polishing a turd. As always, the final judgement lies with the reader.

 

laundry.wp

Laundry.

 

 

IstanbulStreet.wp

Istanbul Street.

 

 

Bazaar.wp

Fatih Bazaar.

 

 

IstanbulGirl.wp

Pedestrian.

 

One response

  1. I know what you mean TR, I feel the same way when I look at my posts from two years ago.

    I read them today & think “what the hell was I talking about?” Haha, experience happens to the best of us. ;-)

    January 5, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

