On Editing

So I’ve not had much opportunity to go out on a wander lately, instead I’ve been going through my older photographs trying to find any gems that I may have missed first time.  Many times I attempted an HDR shot that just failed miserably when I got home and attempted to process it.  In one case a shot that I had wanted a year before I had ever laid foot in the location and it maddeningly refused to come out decently in HDR.  The best version Photomatix could give me was this horror show.

emr hdr

I wanted to cry.  It has been a year since I even considered trying to fix this shot.  No matter how you try it this image is impossible without HDR, either the foreground will be black and you can see out the windows or you won’t be able to see the playground as it is a wash of white with the vague tendrils of the closest tree branches floating.

I’ve been playing around with my photo processing software and learned a lot about how to do more than crop and resize my images, which is about all I used it for when I first got it.  I decided to take on this image one more time.  Last night I posted the first version of this one on the Facebook page even as I was realizing the flaws in it.  Hopefully this time I got it right.

This is not an HDR image, it is a carefully stacked image and my second attempt to finally redeem this image, as I am not sure if we will ever have the chance to explore this location again.

emr edit

9 responses

  1. Great result.

    April 1, 2014 at 3:20 pm

  2. As if by miraculous confluence, I was just messing around with stacking myself, though with inferior results. Go figure.

    April 1, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    • Just play with it more, it took me a week to figure this out.

      April 1, 2014 at 8:44 pm

  3. It looks great. As always, it is fun to view your stuff and I’m delighted to follow you on WordPress!

    April 3, 2014 at 2:40 pm

  4. I love the edit. With post-processing sometimes less can be more.

    Also seems to help to step away from the image for a bit, right? :-)

    April 4, 2014 at 7:28 pm

  5. Great edit!

    April 6, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    • Thanks, I really wanted this image to work, and I never thought it actually would.

      April 6, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

