The Unstrung Harp

The rather esoteric title of this post is a reference to the Edward Gorey of the same name. The story (presented in a form similar to a graphic novel, with each paragraph illustrated with Gorey’s idiosyncratic drawings) details the process by which the protagonist, one Mr. Earbrass, writes a novel, the eponymous Unstrung Harp. While humorous, it presents the act of creation as neurotic, exhausting, self-alienating, and somewhat absurd. This particular story came to mind while I’ve been combing and recombing my recent pictures in order to find pictures that could make the cut for presentation here on The Idiot Photographer. Much like the fictional Mr. Earbrass, I’ve gone through exhilaration and zeal, periods of numbness, and have now reached a stage where most of the last month’s worth of photography seem alien to me. The thing in Harp, however, is that Earbrass is a successful author; he gets lost in the process of creation, but what emerges is apparently a good novel. I wish I could say the same for my own act of creation.

This, of course, is a result of not having been on a shoot in a while; I’m in need of fresh material to edit and agonize over. This will likely be my last post for the next ten days or so, as I leave for Buenos Aires Saturday. Hopefully I’ll return with several memory cards of decent material. Until then, here’s a shot of a tree attempting to escape a ruined apartment building.

 

AmbTreeExterior.wp

 

For those interested in a neat write-up of The Unstrung Harp, I found this on WordPress.

6 responses

  1. Ah yes, creative ebb and flow; the peaks, valleys and the plateau. Have a great trip to Buenos Aires. You are sure to find many interesting things to photograph there.

    May 9, 2014 at 7:07 am

  2. Oh wow, Buenos Aires? That should be a blast. Good luck my friend and safe travels. I am sure you should have no problem loading up a few memory cards while you’re down there. ;-)

    May 9, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    • Thanks, SI. I’m starting to think I put too much pressure on myself with these trips; I feel like I’m getting ready for a sporting event rather than going on vacation. Oh, well, nothing a couple glasses of Argentine malbec won’t fix.

      May 10, 2014 at 9:49 am

      • Awesome. Hey- see if you can to catch a Boca Juniors/River Plate match. Fascinating atmosphere and impossible not to have a good time. :)

        May 13, 2014 at 9:17 pm

      • Ha! Apparently you need to be a Peron or a Nestor to get tickets to that match. I did see the stadium exterior, though.

        May 15, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

