Blooming

mem weekend 032

This weekend was a scouting trip, we did not get into many locations.  Mostly it was hours of driving and listening to music followed by hours of driving around a location looking for a safe way in.  Followed by a few hours of galumphing through tick-infested underbrush with the final result of two buildings explored.  My final tick count was 11, Tabula Rasa on the other hand appears to be magically tick repellent.  I hate him just a little bit because of this.   However he has proven himself a true friend by being willing to pick one off my back that I couldn’t reach.  Just another reason why you should never explore abandoned places alone; not only do you need someone to help should you fall through a floor or stair way, but timely removal of exoparasites can prevent diseases like Lyme, Rock Mountain Spotted Fever, Tularemia, and Erlichiosis.

Plans are in the making for a repeat visit at some point in the future, but first I have to figure out why I am hardly able to walk a mile before I feel faint.  In the meantime I’m going to continue to look for places closer to home but my exploring schedule may be a little light until this issue gets figured out.  This just means that you may get stuck with the occasional kitten photo (because I work with cats and it is kitten season) as well as whatever else may wander my way.  I have a project lined up to do some portraiture in a Harley Modification Shop, and I’m also considering a project with some models in Gary (I would love to do another drag queen shoot there, I just need the queens!).

6 responses

  1. Luckily, we don’t have a big tick problem here in the Pacific Northwest. I hate those nasty little bugs.

    May 27, 2014 at 9:35 am

    • They are pretty hideous, aren’t they? They’re bad enough in my area, but where we were they’re freaking awful, I haven’t picked up that many since I was a little kid.

      May 27, 2014 at 9:38 am

  2. I HATE TICKS!!! What a good friend to “monkey-pick” parasites off your back :-) Great shot and story! Hope you feel better soon.

    May 27, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    • I consider willingness to pick ticks off of someone to be one of the highest forms of friendship.

      May 27, 2014 at 9:25 pm

  3. Ugh, Godspeed IP! I do not like insects, arachnids, you name it. Even if I’m only going into the backyard I’m wearing combat boots and showing no skin – ha!

    June 11, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    • Same here, though the prizewinning moment of the trip was the expression on his face when I had to ask Tabula Rasa to pick a tick off the middle of my back. Thankfully he is true friend and helped me out.

      June 12, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

