The Crypt Doors of Ricoleta

It occurs to me that cemetery photography is a bit like cat photography. In each case, there’s only so much variety in subject matter, yet some find each incredibly photogenic. Of course, the audience for cemetery pictures is many magnitudes smaller, but the principle is the same. And just as with cat pictures, many people roll their eyes at the gloomy, heavy, gothiness of this kind of photography. But critics be damned, I can’t help it; put me in a graveyard, and the pictures practically take themselves. So, if your enthusiasm for this series is flagging, my partner the Idiot Photographer will do her part to counterbalance this gloom with… gloom of the urbex variety, perhaps? On second thought, if you’re tired of gloom, perhaps this is not the blog for you. Maybe go see what’s on the Food Network? Anyway, here is another post in this series on Buenos Aires’ Ricoleta Cemetery.

 

Ricoleta22.wp

 

Ricoleta2.wp

 

Ricoleta4.wp

9 responses

  1. Love Ricoletta!

    May 28, 2014 at 8:20 pm

  2. How could you not love this – these doors? They are a very ornate flavor of gloom.

    May 29, 2014 at 6:55 am

  3. juniorbbq

    Such amazing photos. So beautifully dark. But now, go eat a bag of Skittles or something.

    June 5, 2014 at 10:23 pm

  4. I think a goth detox may be in order.

    June 6, 2014 at 6:33 am

  5. Love the set, last picture especially. The cobwebs and overgrowth… Such a dark, but beautiful shot.

    June 11, 2014 at 6:00 pm

    • I was happy the cobwebs popped like they did, though it took a bit of magic in post-production.

      June 11, 2014 at 6:19 pm

  6. Finally! You’ve answered my question to which there seems to be a phantom answer…just in time for the release of my 2014 Halloween artwork. This year I’m featuring lyrics from Disney’s Haunted Mansion. I always thought the words went “When the crypt doors creak and the tombstones quake…” but I discovered the original lyrics are “When the crypt goes creak and the tombstones quake…” I found a Disney video of the song, which would put the matter to rest (no pun intended)…but it didn’t! The lyrics shown in the video say “creak.” Well, I think that sounds much better anyway…but just to make sure if crypts even had doors, I Googled (early crypts were just walk-throughs apparently) and landed here. I now have proof crypts have doors, whether your photographs are real or spirited visions. Thank you and Happy Haunting. BTW, my series is at AmperArt.com, featuring “the ampersand as fun & fabulous art.”

    October 28, 2014 at 7:27 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

