I Need An Editor

I inevitably reach this point with any batch of photos, at which I have lost my ability to objectively judge the quality of what I’m posting. Shots long dismissed catch my eye; was I too hasty in judging them harshly? The pictures I was quite happy with initially now seem to be trite and cliche. When was I right? Or was I ever right? Bah! Whatever. I’m going to have a whiskey.

Meanwhile, here’s the best of the rest. If any of these tickle your art button, let me know.

 

HazMat.wp

The Crawling Suit

ArchiDetail1.wp

Exterior Detail #1

ArchiDetail2.wp

Exterior Detail #2

SearsMushroom.wp

Floor Mushroom!

SIgns.wp

Can’t You Read?

Here’s what I do know: upcoming will be a rather lengthy series on the Great Ohio Endeavor, shots from which you’ve already seen from the Idiot Photographer.

9 responses

  1. Art is everywhere we look, some cannot always see it, but I do!

    I love the detail in your photo’s and simply enjoy the places and spaces that you share.

    September 24, 2014 at 8:38 am

    • Thanks for the kind words, Sandy. I guess I’m always trying for the “wow” factor, but I don’t always know which pictures will get the strongest reactions.

      September 24, 2014 at 1:35 pm

  2. I have been surprised that I have had more reactions sharing images of churches and mills than anything else. You just never know what will interest another and that there is a wider (world wide) audience out there .

    September 25, 2014 at 3:37 am

    • Holly and I were talking about this the other day. She’s pining for a good industrial site where Tabula Rasa and I are sick to death of them. It is always a treat to get away from the familiar, and sometimes hard to remember that because you have an abundance of something that many other people don’t. Should I ever make it over the waters to your particular landmass I’m going to overdose on churches!

      October 18, 2014 at 7:38 pm

      • If and when you get here, we would be happy to show you both around!

        October 19, 2014 at 5:06 am

  3. These all tickle my art button; the last two images especially! The floor mushroom is interesting as it shows how Mother Nature takes over anything left behind by man. The last shot.. well I love the signs and the chaos!

    September 27, 2014 at 8:25 am

    • Thanks, Cynthia. The shot of the signs is the best of about a dozen I took. I was a bit disappointed because they were too high to shoot with a tripod, so I had to shoot handheld. And in low light, that gets a bit dodgy.

      September 27, 2014 at 9:26 am

  4. Digging the crawling suit and can’t you read. Good capturing of beautiful decay.

    October 1, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    • I’ve warmed up to some of my shots from here in the weeks since taking them. Thanks for the feedback!

      October 2, 2014 at 10:45 am

Oh really? Tell me more....

