The Course of Things

There are many fine urbexers out there who take an active interest in documenting the places they visit, either to highlight an aspect of local history or to help preserve them. While I may be sometimes intrigued by that aspect of urbex, I make no bones that my primary interest in this genre of photography is primarily aesthetic. Sometimes only knowing little about the place you’re seeing heightens the mystery, perhaps makes the story a photo tells a bit more universal. I tend to take a “non-attachment” to the sites we shoot; I find it’s a bit dishonest to bemoan their further decay when that is the very process that allowed us to shoot the pictures we did.
That said, I can’t help be a bit saddened when a site I cut my teeth on gets very rapidly demolished. The Riverdale granary was a massive edifice of metal, rust, concrete and ivy. As of our last visit, only the slim north building still stands. Soon, it too will be gone. It should be remembered that impermanence makes all things possible.

 

RiverdaleTower.wp

 

4 responses

  1. Hi TR, how are you doing? :)

    I respect & agree with your POV. Sometimes not knowing the history is preferable and adds to the allure. I’ve known of quite a few places that I could not determine their history, but yes – it only adds to the mystique. But that doesn’t stop my curiosity. That’s my default mode, I think.

    This is a great shot. I’ve been missing your quality work, still want to get some prints from you but I’ve been sidetracked for a bit. This one, right here, is something I’d like to add to that list.

    February 20, 2015 at 10:10 am

    • Well hello, SI! I was starting to get worried. Hopefully your absence was because you’ve been working on another awesome post, and not any troubles in life. I see how this post may seem to fly in the face of the work that you do. My opinion has always been a great story is a great story, and a great photo is a great photo. One doesn’t exclude the other, but I won’t go out of my way to stitch a backstory onto a picture that doesn’t need it. That said, a legitimately interesting story certainly helps.

      February 20, 2015 at 10:23 am

      • Oh agreed. Didn’t take it as a fly in the face either, no worries. :) I dig differing perspectives.

        ….most of the time. :D

        Things are good on the S-I front, changes are afoot. I’ll be reaching out to you on FB to talk about some things. :)

        February 22, 2015 at 2:57 pm

      • Looking forward to whatever you cook up.

        February 22, 2015 at 2:59 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

