In Passing

A slow, snow filled drive, hours long through an early Sunday morning left us wandering the halls and rooms of a rambling maze, formerly a military installation.  Turning and twisting, the halls all look the same, and empty echoing room after echoing room I wandered further from my companions as we lost ourselves in the eerie silence of a place shunned.

Subtle evidence that we were not the only creatures to visit this place abounded for those looking, and I was glad that I did not cross paths with any but the smallest inhabitants.

gate smmlr

 

 

3 responses

  1. I got better at not leaving footprints in the snow as the day went on. The first of these gates I came to I remember looking down and seeing I had spoiled a fine set of squirrel (or some other small critter) prints.

    March 8, 2015 at 8:46 pm

  2. I think I would have preferred to not have run into *any* other inhabitants. :-D

    Hey, it’s so good to see posts from IP again, missed ya!

    March 10, 2015 at 4:55 pm

    • Yeah, I’ve been hibernating :)
      I just ran into a couple of birds (one them quite literally) and saw a few bunnies. There were a lot of coyote prints around, I do wish I got to see one of them.

      March 23, 2015 at 7:05 pm

Oh really? Tell me more....

